Sunday, March 1, 2015

[Teaser of the day] Karen Cooper Complex - We Saw Waves

  • Post-punk
  • Experimental rock
  • Improvised music
  • Avant-rock
  • Art punk
  • No Wave

[Teaser of the day] Sanchez Is Driven By Demons - All Systems Are Ghosts

  • Shoegazetronica
  • Leftfield
  • Ambient noise
  • Indietronica
  • Post-psychedelic electronica
  • Hauntology
  • Experimentalism
  • Kosmische Musik
  • Avant-garde

[Teaser of the day] Surfacing - Amaurot

  • Dubstep
  • Dark jazz
  • Noir music
  • Crossover
  • Deep dub

G-DO & Xception - A Tribute to Fela Kuti: Felatastic (2011

/Conceptual, Afro beat, Hip-hop, Urban Music, Afro futurism, Psychedelic, Afro funk, Rap/

Comment: Chicago rapper Xception and Amsterdam producer G-DO do insist in the introducing track Outline that their purpose is to introduce the Nigerian legend Fela Kuti`s music to a newer audience. Indeed, in their first Felastatic album (10 tracks) they would complete their task regarding a mix between nowadays hip-hop music elements and hovering, psychedelic nature of afro beat/funk//afro futuristic rhythms and prominent harmonic sensitivity. For instance, listen to The Revolutionist, a fabulous blend of dance appealed rhythms, convulsive scratch flecks and hectic chants which are about to rear the listener`s feel and intoxicate it with timeless perception regarding good kind of music. On the other side, it does not surprise with regard to crafty production abilities being previously experienced by those producers. However, they would release a sequel to this issue in 2013. In a word, hail to the king Fela Anikulapo Kuti (1938-1997).   

Protuberance – Dimension And Breaks (2013)

/Deep house, Space music, New Age, Psytrance, Big beat, Crossover, Electronica/

Comment: indeed, it can say that the title of Bulgarian Ilevan Iliev`s 7-track issue justifies its name and intention. The album provides the journey through labyrinthine rhythmic plateaus and profound and more light-hearted synth based explorations. The modernity is juxtaposed against old-fashioned sonic appearances (they are rather classic ones, though). More profoundly, genuine spaced-out progressions, spiky rhythmic promontories and proper deep house vibes are laid out to be jettisoned in favour of languid New Age-y progressions and tribal electronic/trance examples (proper ones to be presented at WOMAD either). And vice versa. The favourite track of mine is Solar Corona, a fascinating composition created for completing your space journey. It is a hortative listening for sure. 

Sanmi - Junkie (2013)

/Experimental electronica, Sampledelic, Leftfield, Hauntology, Sound collage/

Comment: obviously it is not the first attempt to ridicule serious pop music attitude on its very own core. Japanese artist Sanmi exploits only some syllables or words or phrases to underline a peculiar atmosphere predominantly hanging over a whole of consisting of 4 compositions. On the other side, this word based context (having hints at licking at a candybar and hipsters who used to bear an attitude of musical junkies) is backed up by austere, looped bass rhythms which used to ignite a spooky milieu to come forth. It might be inspired either by The Caretaker, by Cassetteboy, horror/sci-fi movies or something else but the result is quite idiosyncratic and unquestionably thought-provoking listening.The issue is a part of elementperspective, an experimental/electronic music label from Nippon.           

Saturday, February 28, 2015

[Teaser of the day] Nyctophiliac - Flocks of Ravens In Killing Spree

  • Big beat
  • Acid jazz
  • Alternative dance
  • Breaks
  • Sampledelic
  • Nu jazz
  • Crossover
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...