Thursday, September 29, 2016

DaRKRam – Stone and Death (2016)

  • Darkwave 
  • Art music 
  • Neoclassical 
  • Improvised music 
  • Drone
  • Dark ambient 
  • Space rock 
  • Blackgaze 
  • Avant-garde 
  • Post-industrial 
  • Ambient rock 
  • Abstract 
  • Experimentalism

Comment: this 9-track monster by Argentinian musician and trumpet player Ramon Moro could be imagined in different ways. Firstly, it is a neoclassical and dark ambient composition with dodges into something remarkably madder and ominous which frequently reject classification and simple logic output. Secondly, it is a mourning post-industrial record with hints at spaced-out rock and orchestrated music. The layers is getting incessantly piled on throughout the course ranging from dull yet arousing droning and emotive blackened ambient to menacing forms of shoegazing and reverberating ambient rock. DaRKRam is both adept in creating climactic moments and manipulating on feelings of the suspenseful listener while the premisses set up by Moro used to progress stepwise to its unforeseeable consequences. The soundscape of him used to bulge and thump, used to dilate and soothe. In a word, it is filled with many putative contradictions though all these ones are merged into an organic, mesmerizing whole. Given that the issue could be considered a general issue to gather together the artist’s ideas. From within on I guess DaRKRam does have many ways to develop on more in a specific manner. One of such ways could be heard at XVI wherein the artist resorts to a motorik rhythmic pattern to round out the improvised buildup. A sort of psychedelic music is also embedded in that. It is just a possibility for an accomplished musician to bring fort his/her ingenious side. And the cover print of it seems to be as if extracted from a horror movie – it is captivating in its awe. At the moment, however, it is one of the most striking and brilliant issues in 2016 so far. Like ancient Americans used to say for such a fine-grained appearance: holy shit. The issue is a part of the discography of Kermesse Records.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...