Monday, April 17, 2017

Frenic – Monomyth: Separation (2015)

  • Sampledelic 
  • Nu jazz 
  • Hip-hop 
  • Psychedelic 
  • Crossover
  • Mood music 
  • Ambient pop 
  • Chilltronica 
  • Alternative 
  • Urban music 
  • Big beat 
  • Acid jazz

Comment: Bristol, UK-based DJ and producer Sam Fergusson aka Frenic has been active in releasing albums since the beginning of the 10s by excelling at the tradition of rhythmic music of his home city. In general, this mammoth issue of 22 pieces is a fine blend of hip-hop and trip-hop and big beat rhythms and on the other side by using cinematic orchestrated samples, glistening synthesised sounds and suggestive spoken samples. However, it involves a bunch of other turns and penumbras additionally. For instance, at Rhodes Home (feat.Alfie Grieve) Sam Fergusson used to exploit the softened electric piano based pattern (Rhodes-based chords?) being accompanied by a smooth jazz-inflected improvisation. At God Moves he employs flamenco guitar chords and tango vibes in a certain, effective way to result in a solid crossover mix of hip-hop. A following composition Refusal to Call (Skit) is a quite disparate case because Fergusson does introduce a thoroughly immersive spaced-out universe. At times the mood of the album used to change into a little bit murky and glowering. To create the issue was inspired by the artist`s first big and cordial tour in Greece thereafter decided to narrate the tale of a great journey in a musical language. As I said before it is an unique universe, it is immense enough to discover more elements with any subsequent listening time. And of course /Listen! listen to my heartbeat! Listen! Listen to me!/ Monomyth: Separations is a bit in the discography of a Bulgarian imprint, Dusted Wax Kingdom (as most of his earlier outings as well).
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...