Friday, November 20, 2015

Owl Brain Atlas – AM/FM/UFO (2011)

  • Dada music
  • Avant-garde
  • Experimentalism
  • Acousmatic music
  • Drone
  • Sound collage
  • Non-music
  • Improvised noise
  • Leftfield
  • Avant-electronica
  • Psycho-acoustic
  • Electro-acoustic

Comment: frequently unusual and weird sort of music is called “UFO music” by superficial music listeners. Indeed, J. D. Nelson`s produced album is one of that because of consisting of 23 tracks with a total duration of 26 minutes only (the only exception is XI which last beyond 9 minutes). It does mean an average structure of musical compositions one cannot find from there because all is thoroughly warped and destroyed/deconstructed or subjected to uncompromising algorithms of cutting-edge noises, repeated loops of very short samples and incisive droning here and there. At times it rings like an example of sound collage by using speech samples and electro-acoustic snippets. Those speech samples are being exploited in different ways with different purposes to conjure up different associations in the listener`s head. For instance, at times it chimes like an instance of dada madness, at times it chimes like a time span filled with groans and moans as if reflecting zombies to come nearby to attack a new target. Indeed, every element within it is thoroughly elaborated and channelized despite its overtly fragmented appearance. In fact, J. D. Nelson has produced it for four yeards (2007-2011). In a word, it is a thought-provoking, frantically manipulated electronica/noise mayhem. 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...