Isabel Nogueira – Hybrid (2017)

  • Experimental electronica 
  • Sound art 
  • Avant-garde 
  • Noise 
  • Avant-electronica 
  • Experimentalism 
  • Spoken word 
  • Piano music 
  • Drone 
  • Electro-acoustic 
  • Abstract 
  • Leftfield

Comment: if to compare this 7-notch outing to H Stewart`s Letter to Kansas City (2011, Folksoundomy) being commented yesterday at RMH one can find out some gross similarities. First of all, it involves chords induced by a keyboard and this in turn is being wrapped up by austere, glitched-out noise clouds wiggling and wobbling like an outing by a rabid composer of having gotten back his/her inspiration recently and now he/she is very enthusiastic to flood a track with a bunch of different bits and methods. Gaga over. Lady Gaga over? No, it is a different, more subtle story with regard to the superstar. On the other side, if Letter to Kansas City can be considered the songwriter album of H Stewart so far then Hybrid does not provide focus on lyrics. There is up one track which chimes like a record from a nightmarish comedy session being backed up by gruesome electronic music and at times there are up some snippets of spoken word. However, having your ears to be set on these compositions more closely you can feel true richness of the album. Furthermore, this album is to set different parts against each other thereby establishing a dynamic contrast. Calmness and silence created through the aforementioned piano and clavichord chords and pulsating, piercing droning, intense electronic bubbling and torrents of modest white noise on the other side are adeptly juxtaposed. However, at Inner Voices one can surprisingly perceive of how those intense signals can be emotive and gentle in a way. In a nutshell, listen to it and get wowed away with it. That's invigorating and exalting. The outing is a part of the Chicago, Illinois,US-based imprint Pan Y Rosas Discos. Isabel Nogueira is a female musicologist-artist from Porto Alegre, Brazil whose music can be compared with the likes of Big City Orchestra, Maja Ratkje, Laurie Anderson, Zoviet France.