Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Neil Scrivin – Twenty Years On Ben Nevis (2008)

  • Ambient 
  • Drone 
  • DIY 
  • Electronic music 
  • Lo-fi 
  • Dreamwave 
  • Drone pop 
  • Organcore 
  • Mood music

Comment: just discovered that Blackpool musician Neil Scrivin`s both albums Twenty Years On Ben Nevis, and Tomorrow`s World are uploaded at Bandcamp, both of them are remastered and are available in tape format being now closely related to such Blackpudlian imprint as Fonolith. However, my intention is to review it as a bit in the discography of Rack &Ruin Records, a record label reflecting upon an interesting microscopic sonic space at the end of the 00s, and the beginning of the 10s. Rack & Ruin Records had been heading by the Englishman Dean Birkett from 2008 to 2011 whose taste was DIY friendly while experiment orienting. There was up enough noisy indie, peculiar folk-based issues, clumsy lo-fi and bedroom masterminds, warped electronic and deranged ambient-alike stuff. If to name only some artists I would like to denote such artists as Gnomefoam, starstarstar, Tropical Australian Stinger Research Unit, Zgress, Chad Golda, Patrick Hussey, If The People Were Paper, Tyson Brinacombe, Hipster Youth, Dog Bite, Cody England, Gnouli Monsters, Vincent Lillis, The Macadamia Brothers, Lean Horse Marathon, Frost Faire, dessktop, Andy`s Airport Of Love, Chimney Fish. This album of 14 compositions which will clock in at a 35 minute is a sublime drift within droning ambient coated electronic music where the listener can perceive dreamwave-tinged seeds to appear. It is almost (indie) pop music but I have to emphasise the word almost. It is being always admirable if electronic music is produced in dreamy mode (to do it one hs to surpass the mechanical, machine-drenched nature of it). In fact, such sort of sound would mostly get popularized some years ago after the recent release thanks to such artists as Oneothrix Point Never, M Gedded Gengras, Steven Hauschildt. All of that is the contemporary counterpart of Kosmische Musik where adorable vibrations and otherworldly beatific drones are followed by one another or superimposed on eath other. While listening to it you do not need nothing else for your fortune. It sounds like going backwards the past you could find the future from it waiting for you. Originally it was released in 2007 yet at Rack & Ruin it was released one year later.  
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...